First First Draft!

image201310010002

Finishing a novel is something I’ve wanted to do since I wrote my epic 4,000 word crime “novel” at age 14. I told my teacher then that I was worried I couldn’t write “long things,” She said I could. While this pile of paper is merely a first draft and in dire need of serious editing, cutting, adding, etc in true Pantser fashion, and even if it would end up unpublished at the bottom of a drawer or abandoned in the rubbish bin (I would never!), I can tell her that she was right. 

The manuscript has deserved a nap. In a couple of weeks I shall pick it up again and polish it to perfection in preparation for a tough crowd to dig their eyes and claws into these precious words. Until that point I’ll begin thinking about the next project – there are a few ideas floating around and it’s simply a matter of deciding what to do next. I’ll keep you posted!

Once more I’d like to reach out a humble thanks for reading and commenting. It’s a lonely business, writing. Friends – far or away, familiar or not – and encouraging words mean the world when you’re tapping away in a closed off room for the hundredth day in a row. Thank you, thank you, and thank you again!

We’re still far away from our destination, but “BE” and I will get there eventually.

Lots of love, N.

4 thoughts on “First First Draft!

    • Thank you ever so much, Sally! My fingers are itching to begin editing right away but I know it’ll benefit from a bit more rest…gah!
      x

    • Hi Catherine! Thank you! I’m soon about to start editing. Très exciting! Very good luck to you too in all your production endeavours. Lots of love, Jo xx

Leave a Reply

